The Lower Rio Grande Valley Development Council provides public transportation in urbanized and non-urbanized areas of the lower Rio Grande Valley through its transit department, Valley Metro. Valley Metro operates routes in the following communities:

Hidalgo County
Alamo, Alton, Donna, Edcouch, Elsa, Edinburg, Hargill, La Blanca, La Joya, Mercedes, Mission, Palmhurst, Palmview, Pharr, San Carlos, San Juan, Sullivan City, Weslaco
Main transfer hub: McAllen Central Station (downtown McAllen)

Cameron County
Brownsville, Harlingen, La Feria, La Paloma, Olmito, Port Isabel, Primera, San Benito, Santa Rosa
Main transfer hub: Brownsville Market Square (downtown Brownsville)

Willacy County
Curb-to-curb demand response service

Service hours are typically Monday – Saturday, from 6:00 AM to 8:00 PM.

Fares are $1.50 for adults (regular fare) and $0.75 for students, the elderly (60+), the disabled, and veterans. Transfers from one bus to another are free. Children under 7, as well as students from the University of Texas-Pan American, ride free with an official ID. Everyone rides free on Routes 10, 20, 30, 13 and 31 until the end of September, 2012 and Route 45 until the end of March, 2012.

Click the links on the right to find the route map for your area.